Skip Navigation

[Resolved] Connecting CPT using Relationship or Custom Field

This support ticket is created 2 years, 8 months ago. There's a good chance that you are reading advice that it now obsolete.

This is the technical support forum for Toolset - a suite of plugins for developing WordPress sites without writing PHP.

Everyone can read this forum, but only Toolset clients can post in it. Toolset support works 6 days per week, 19 hours per day.

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
- 9:00 – 13:00 9:00 – 13:00 9:00 – 13:00 9:00 – 13:00 9:00 – 13:00 -
- 14:00 – 18:00 14:00 – 18:00 14:00 – 18:00 14:00 – 18:00 14:00 – 18:00 -

Supporter timezone: Asia/Karachi (GMT+05:00)

Author

Tell us what you are trying to do?

Firstly, greatly appreciate your support so far with using toolset. I'm new to WordPress and still learn how to use this plugin.

I have a "Project" CPT listing real estate projects and data, including companies involved (developer, architect, contractor, etc.). I also created another CPT "Companies" with company profiles and contact info.

Now, I'm trying to create a dynamic list called "Companies Involved" listing the role (developer, architect, etc.) and the Company (linked to the company profile) in the "Projects" Custom Template

Please kindly advise :

a) Should I create a CPT Relationship linking Projects CPT and Companies CPT? If yes, how can I assign the Companies to each role (developer, architect, etc)? Do I need an intermediary CPT "Companies Involved/Roles"? How to list if a company could have multiple roles (architect & engineer)? To goal is also to have an archive page for Companies listing their involved projects.

b) or should I create a Custom Field and use php to create a drop-down list of Company CPT for each role? If yes how to do this (I'm not yet familiar with the process of adding custom code). I assume with this method "Companies" cannot have an archive page?

Is there any documentation that you are following?