Skip Navigation

[Resolved] Bulk Disconnection of Related Posts

This thread is resolved. Here is a description of the problem and solution.

Problem:
The customer asked if there is a way to bulk disconnect post-relationships and would the post-relationship connections would be deleted if the participating post is deleted.

Solution:
Guided that there is no feature or interface available to bulk disconnect the related posts and once you'll trash and then permanently delete a participating post, it will effectively disconnect all its post-relationship connections too.

Relevant Documentation:
n/a

This is the technical support forum for Toolset - a suite of plugins for developing WordPress sites without writing PHP.

Everyone can read this forum, but only Toolset clients can post in it. Toolset support works 6 days per week, 19 hours per day.

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by aaronM-9 2 months ago.

Assigned support staff: Waqar.

Author
Posts
#2425413

I have a one-to-many relationship between posts and another post type ('channels'). One of the channels currently has over 1,000 connected posts and I would like to disconnect all of them but retain the channel (basically, I want to remove historical posts because they should never have been connected to this channel).

Question 1: Is there a way to bulk disconnect posts without deleting the channel itself?

Question 2: If not, will deleting the channel and then recreating it effectively disconnect all the posts, or will there be a bunch of orphaned relationships left behind in the database?

Ideally, I would like the channel to use the same slug so the URL's are friendly. Thanks for the help.

-- Aaron

#2426083

Waqar
Supporter

Languages: English (English )

Timezone: Asia/Karachi (GMT+05:00)

Hi Aaron,

Thank you for contacting us and I'd be happy to assist.

> Question 1: Is there a way to bulk disconnect posts without deleting the channel itself?
- There is no built-in feature or interface available to bulk disconnect the related posts.

> Question 2: If not, will deleting the channel and then recreating it effectively disconnect all the posts, or will there be a bunch of orphaned relationships left behind in the database?
- If you'll trash and then permanently delete that channel post from the admin area, it will effectively disconnect all its related posts too and no orphaned relationships will be left behind.

> Ideally, I would like the channel to use the same slug so the URL's are friendly.
- Yes, once the channel post has been permanently deleted, you'll be able to create a new one with the same name and the slug.

I hope this helps and please let me know if you need any further assistance around this.

regards,
Waqar

#2428143

My issue is resolved now. Thank you!