Today we made a change to the way we take payment for Toolset. We’ve removed the option to buy new Lifetime accounts, and instead we’re offering automatic renewals.

Until now, we’ve offered two options to pay for Toolset: yearly accounts, which you need to remember to renew every year, and Lifetime accounts, which require no renewal.

As of today, purchase options will be simpler and (we hope) make more sense. Now, when you buy a Toolset account, the default option is to set up automatic renewals. This way, you get uninterrupted access to updates and renewals, you don’t need to remember to renew every year, and you’re not paying in advance for years to come.

Of course, we’re not forcing anyone. You can cancel your renewal at any time. If you cancel your account within 30 days, we’ll also refund your initial (first year’s) payment. We’ll continue to send reminder emails 30 days and 3 days before renewals kick in, so if you’re no longer using Toolset, you will have time to cancel the automatic renewal before you are charged.

Why the Move to Automatic Renewals?

We believe that automatic renewals benefit everyone—our clients and ourselves. For clients, it means that you’re not paying in advance. You’re only paying for what you actually use, when you use it. You don’t need to worry about being available right when our reminder email comes in to renew your account at a discounted price. It’s just more convenient.

For us, automatic renewals are important so we can predict our future income and plan how much we can invest in building a better Toolset. We’d love to have even more new clients, but we have to take care of our existing clients as well. By knowing who’s renewing, we can be better prepared for support and new development.

How Automatic Renewals Work

As of today, anyone who buys Toolset will see a summary of the current charge, as well as the future charges and their renewal schedule. Clients with existing accounts should log in to their Toolset accounts to see the notification about setting up automatic renewals.

If you already have a Lifetime account, you don’t need to do anything. We honor existing accounts, and you will continue receiving updates and support for life.

Once you have automatic renewal set up, you will receive reminders from us before we renew your account, and an invoice after the automatic renewal charge is made.

Using Toolset’s Affiliate System?

Our affiliate system remains unchanged. You will receive credit for clients that you refer to us. Please note that we can only pay an affiliate commission for the first payment, not for the entire series of renewals in following years.

What Do You Think?

Thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions? Please leave your comments and we’ll get back to you.