Today I had a shock, I logged in to my site, because a collaborator of mine was complaining that they could not see certain menu items anymore to which I gave them rights to, using Access.
I wanted to control the Access settings and discovered the plugin deleted. I re-installed it, and all settings where defaulted to vanilla.
While this is weird enough, I obviously don't think this was a Toolset Bug, it must have been whatever else witchcraft, which not only deleted the plugin, but also successfully deleted all its settings, which can usually only happen if you press "Reset Access settings"
Just mentioning it here in case you have seen similar reports.
It was not a hack, as nothing else was defaced or changed - and the logs do not show any suspicious activity either, they do not even show the plugin being deleted (checked for references to wp-admin/plugins.php?action=delete).
Weirdest thing ever, however...
In the attempt of rebuilding my Access settings, I noticed two issues:
1. When I saved the posts and pages and CPT rights, the first time, and reloaded the page, nothing was saved and it all fell back to default. I saved the settings again, and this time it worked.
2. In the "Types Fields" tab I noticed that by default, "Guests" are set to "View Fields In Edit Page". This made no sense to me. Why should Guests be allowed to see fields in the edit page? By what I understand, the guests should not even appear in that settings table, since guests cannot login, thus, cannot see or edit anything in an edit page. Do I miss something here?
I didn't take the time to replicate #1 on a clean install but I think I have seen this exact behaviour on other installs a few weeks ago.
The first time Access is installed it won't save the post settings, only the second time saving them will work.
Issue #2 should be easily "replicable"