Skip Navigation

[Resolved] How to change the existing parent header and footer layout to my own?

This support ticket is created 7 years, 4 months ago. There's a good chance that you are reading advice that it now obsolete.

This is the technical support forum for Toolset - a suite of plugins for developing WordPress sites without writing PHP.

Everyone can read this forum, but only Toolset clients can post in it. Toolset support works 6 days per week, 19 hours per day.

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
- 12:00 – 17:00 12:00 – 17:00 12:00 – 17:00 12:00 – 17:00 12:00 – 17:00 -
- 18:00 – 21:00 18:00 – 21:00 18:00 – 21:00 18:00 – 21:00 18:00 – 21:00 -

Supporter timezone: Asia/Karachi (GMT+05:00)

Author

Hello... I'm new to Toolset and WordPress.

I am trying to:
Get my site to use the parent header and footer layout I created myself instead of the existing parent header and footer layout that, I assume, came with the Toolset Starter Theme. But when I went to my homepage, it kept showing the existing parent header and footer layout instead of my own.

I visited this URL:
Homepage

I expected to see:
The parent header and footer layout that I had created.

Instead, I got:
The existing parent header and footer layout that, I assume, came with the Toolset Starter Theme.

This is what I did:

1. I created a new parent header and footer layout called "layout-parent-header-footer-global" with a child layout cell in the middle.
2. I clicked the child layout cell and created a child layout called "layout-child-homepage".
3. I created a page called "page-homepage".
4. I previewed the "page-homepage" page, clicked "Customize" in WordPress' top menu bar, and assigned the frontpage to static page "page-homepage".
5. I assigned the "layout-child-homepage" child layout to be used for the "page-homepage" page.
6. If I clicked the "Preview Layout" button on this "layout-child-homepage" edit layout page, it would show me the correct parent header and footer layout that I had created.